Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

With the start of Spring on Friday, the Northeast greeted Spring with a new coat of softly fallen snow. While some may grumble at the snow, my friends and family in Northern Vermont welcomed this new coat as it did not signal the continuation of winter but the start if my favorite season, Sugar Season.

Sugar Season, is the time of year when the days are warm and the nights are cold. the snow falls with a heavy snow flake. The snow is characterized by really large snow flakes and a wet characteristic. This snow occurs when the temperature is on the verge of freezing on the warmer side. It coats the landscape one last time and reminds the beauty of snow.

Sugar season brings a gentle change in what we wear from heavy down parkas with full hats, scarves, mittens, snow boots and long johns to fleece outerwear, lighter weight hats, cowls, muck boots (for the mud) and dare I say fingerless mittens. This brings a change in my style of knitting as well. By this time of the season my choosing of yarn turns to brighter colors dreams of shawls and the occasional cotton blend. This year I had been staring at this gorgeous color of Capricorn by  Green Mountain Spinnery called Midnight which had been staring at me in my stash. (http://www.spinnery.com) The lovingly made single ply bulky yarn integrates the best characteristics of wool and mohair to produce a yarn that is a joy to knit with and a pleasure to wear. The color reminded me of something but all winter I could not pin point it. Then in a daydream about Sugar on Snow and Easter at my Aunt Eva’s, it came to me , Midnight reminded me of the Twilight Vermont sky as you gather the last sap buckets for the night boil.

The texture of this yarn lends itself to many different techniques of knitting.I chose to use a slip stitch pattern that gently mimics a cable with less effort and beautiful results. This yarn is warm enough to help bridge the gap of the seasons and make your Sugaring Season quite a delight.

Check out my new Sugar Snow Hat and Cowl on Ravelry.

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sugar-snow-hat

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sugar-snow-cowl

Enjoy $2.00 off each pattern by using the code: Sugar Snow as we got 4 inches of snow on Friday! Happy Sugar Season Knitting!

20150324-125930-46770803.jpg

